Getting the video ready to Vegas [TUTORIAL]
OK, I'm going to make some tutorials about settings in CS, getting vids from .dem to .avi, etc.
1. Graphics, CS settings
a) First of all, you better set the best quality of your screen to make a nice videos.
Set your antialiasing for 8xS and the Anisotropic Filtering for 16x.
How to do it ? (with nVidia cards)
b) Download the detail textures, which makes ur de_ maps more prettier.
How to install ? Just put the sprites and gfx folder into ur cstrike folder and type into the console: r_detailtextures 1
c) Settings of your resolution. Counter-Strike -> Options -> Video - (Widescreen is the best in my opinion), 960x600 or 1280x720, 32 Bits press OK and wait for restart of ur CS.
Your CS'll look crapy but it's only because of the monitor, but the .AVI will look normaly.
____________________________________________________________________
2. Creating the .bmp's (suxy part)
There are many ways how to get .AVI from CS, but the one of the best is a way with console command "startmovie".
The whole process is too easy, however too boring :(.
You can choose, how many frames per second will CS take. I'm using 90 and it's good. If u are a chooser, u better try 450 and then render the video in vegas to 45 fps.
a) Choose your demo file and type viewdemo "name".
b) Find a start of the part what want u to record and pause the demo.
c) Type to the console : "startmovie" "name" "90" and play the dem. - Engine is taking the pictures of demo, which you are just playing.
d) When the scene is gone, open the console again and type "endmovie".
Now ur pictures are saved in cstrike folder and they're ready to be convertable to .AVI.
____________________________________________________________________
3. Finnaly, converting .BMPs to .AVI
For this operation, you have to use a VirtualDub .
a) In the vDub press : File -> Open Video File -> Find the first picture in your cstrike folder - It's loading the pictures.
b) When the frames are loaded, you can see in the window the first picture with console and the Axis of the frames.
c) If u don't want to create the video with the pictures of console you have to find the first screen without console and press these buttons as pawls.
d) If u got it, it's time to convert it to .AVI.
1. File -> Save as .AVI (SC-F7)
2. Name it and let it encode.
3. Your video'll look maybe to stucky and will have sth. about ~3-10 GBs~, but u can encode it to DivX or XviD with vDub so, that u open the uncompressed video -> Then u'll choose Video -> Compression and choose DivX or XviD(Only Vegas 8.0), bitrate resolution, etc.
PS. Alternative, better solution.
If u want videos with smaller size, you have to use loseless codeck Huffyuv v2.1.1 Install by right click on the .inf file and choose Install
a) In vDub use Video -> Compression -> Huffyuv v2.1.1, press OK and save it to .AVI :)
Now your demo is in .AVI file and ready to be edited in Vegas. Wish you good luck and Fun with making the movies !
All these helps were typed by me so there can be many mistakes, cause my eng isn't pro enough. If u find some mistake, type it here.
Peace out..
Thx for the tutorial :D Nice work!
nice but isn't Virtual Dub a illigal link? i mean such a programm isn't for free isn't it?
GJ bk#kl :)
Originally posted by DaMpnice but isn't Virtual Dub a illigal link? i mean such a programm isn't for free isn't it?
Freeware..
It ´s so good guide for me :D because anybody know ( from kzsk ), how to convert .dem to .avi :D And i must write them how to...Thx bk#kL ;)
lol, virtual dub is freeware!
but what the hack???
i got vegas 7.0 and 8.0 and both versions won´t
let me import a xvid compressed file?!?
oh my 8.0 accepts xvid, im still not sure why
7.0 doesn´t ...
anyway working with uncompressed stuff is better 4 quality
yeah yeah xvid is not supported in all vegases,only sound from that
Ye sorry, I forgot that 7.0 doesn't accept XviD :(
so you must repair , NOW !!! :D
a) Choose your demo file and type viewdemo "name".
b) Find a start of the part what want u to record and pause the demo.
c) Type to the console : "startmovie" "name" "90" and play the dem. - Engine is taking the pictures of demo, which you are just playing.
d) When the scene is gone, open the console again and type "endmovie".
imho it's better to bind f1-f12 key, they doesn't affect console. Personally I use "bind F1 startmovie "lalala" 30" and "bind F12 endmovie"
Ye this opinion is good too :) Hope it gets a sticky :D
There is a better way then startmovie in console ;)
Btw I skip 3 parts
btw, what do you mean by this:
If u are a chooser, u better try 450 and then render the video in vegas to 45 fps.
and your way of moviemaking is baaaad
Ur opinion, but almost all movies are done with this technique :D
Originally posted by raverThere is a better way then startmovie in console ;)
Btw I skip 3 parts
Whats your way to do it?
I would really like to know, coming from you
thanks!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwrbyVaC6EU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwrbyVaC6EU
rinkon, didn´t you use fraps for your lates movie???
(not sure which it was)
Like you said @this post, the quality isn´t bad!
no startmovie 90 , but we didn´t want video with size over 1 gb , because 21min is too much , and all parts are 2x rendered to xvid , so this is problem
it means first from vegas , and second from v-dub (after render from vegas)
Please log in to post replies.